WEX Deals: Sony Summer Cashback - Claim Up To 300

confusion about Sigma 50mm macro lens

trifive 6 4
1 Aug 2013 2:39AM
Hi all....I am really new at digital photography so I have what may be a silly question. I purchased a Sigma 50mm 1:2.8 EX macro lens. What is the difference be between a D and DG lens? The description on the Ebay auction says the lens is a DG but the photo and the actual lens says D. I can't find any photos online of one that looks like the one enclosed in the photo, which is the one I received. Any thoughts... dsc-0566.jpg

Thanks for any help or advice.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

sherlob Plus
14 3.1k 129 United Kingdom
1 Aug 2013 8:11AM
Are you using Nikon by any chance?

If so - I think the D simply denotes the lens as having an aperture ring ( the ring with numbers such as 32, 22, 18...).

Two links I found may help:

Sigma's lens chart

And an alternative thread on a forum found on Google
1 Aug 2013 8:47AM
Every Sigma DG lens that I have personally handled has "DG" printed on it because (amongst other things) it denotes the more advanced lens coatings which Sigma are proud of and like to make a big thing about. I think D on it's own simply denotes the lens mount. I suggest you contact Sigma (their contact-us page is at http://www.sigmaphoto.com/about-sigma/contact-us) and ask them to confirm this because I have an uneasy feeling that a certain eBay seller may not be getting top feedback from you. Sad
bmh1 14 572 1 United Kingdom
1 Aug 2013 10:46AM
Just FYI, my Sigma 50mm macro which is ~7 years old looks like:

sigma50.jpg
trifive 6 4
1 Aug 2013 1:59PM
I am using a Nikon D3200. I took your advice and sent a question to Sigma. I sure hope I didn't get ripped off. I will reply back once I receive an answer

Thanks for all the advice
Dc is for aps-c sensors, DG for full frame and crop sensors Smile
trifive 6 4
1 Aug 2013 5:23PM