50% Off Portrait Pro + An Extra 15% For EPZ Members With Code: EPZ421

Copyright - photos on client's private land

harvestman 14 12 United Kingdom
2 Dec 2007 9:49PM
I have been invited to take photos on private property (natural history content), in the hope that some will be selected for use in the owner's publicity material, website, archive etc. in return for payment, yet to be defined.

I understand from reading through previous discussions of this topic that copyright on the photos is mine, but does the fact that the photos in this case are taken on the client's private land influence their rights in any way, and affect mine? I am not an employee of the client.

I'm new to such matters, so any helpful insights would be appreciated. Thanks.
Chris
Fujiconvert 16 1.3k England
3 Dec 2007 6:19AM
Copyright stays with the photographer unless signed away.
Krakman 14 3.6k Scotland
3 Dec 2007 11:05AM
The fact it's on private land makes no difference - unless whoever owns/leases the land tells you you're not allowed to take pics there...
JohnHorne 16 1.0k
3 Dec 2007 1:15PM
My understanding is that if the photos are taken on private land then the owner can set the conditions that apply. For example, he may say that he is allowing you onto his land in order to take photos on the condition that you do not sell the photos elsewhere. However the fact that the photos were taken on private land does not mean that such a restriction automatically applies.

To avoid any misunderstanding in future it might be worth seeking agreement in advance that you can do what you like with the photos.

Regardless of any restrictions that may apply, the copyright remains with you (unless otherwise agreed).
loweskid 19 2.0k 1 United Kingdom
3 Dec 2007 1:24PM
You retain copyright but if you want to use them elsewhere, such as submitting to an agency, you should get a Property Release form signed. Or get a good lawyer!
cambirder 17 7.2k England
3 Dec 2007 3:23PM