Amazon Kindle Unlimited Offer: 1-Month For FREE!

Crop factor and DOF

Krakman 14 3.6k Scotland
8 Apr 2007 11:20PM
What it really means is that when you use a crop sensor, you end up with less 'apparent' depth of field than if you're using the same lens with a full frame sensor (or film).

Of course, the ACTUAL depth of field hasn't changed at a given aperture (it's the same lens at the same aperture after all!), but because you've effectively 'zoomed in' on a distant object, you have amplified the 'defect' ie. the lack of depth of field, so the eye sees it more clearly.

Furthermore, an image taken with a 50mm lens on a 1.5x crop sensor will look pretty much the same, both in terms of angle of framing and depth of field, as an image taken with a 75mm lens on a full frame sensor.
User_Removed 16 4.9k England
8 Apr 2007 11:31PM
I know you're correct...... I read it in about 1952, when I studied these things. Then immediately began to forget, because I never needed to use them.
Lenses and crops present the image, the way they do and nothing can change it.
Col
theorderingone 17 2.4k
8 Apr 2007 11:54PM
Hmmm. that's right, in a way. A 50mm lens will always display the same DOF characteristics, no matter what the format is at a given aperture and subject distance.

A smaller sensor will generally be less forgiving of any mis-focussing, poor resolution or other defects as the pixel pitch will be smaller.

Crop factor does nothing to focal length, it only affects the angle of view, which has little or no effect on the DOF.

The get the same angle of view on FF as APS-C, you need a longer focal length if distances are kept the same. This in turn leads to a reduction in DOF due to the higher magnification of the lens.