Darkroom Chemicles - Oxidation?

WilliamRoar 12 188 United Kingdom
16 Jun 2011 6:45PM
As a student, I don't have the cash to buy lots of chemicals, so I want to keep them as long as possible.

I know developer (Ilford Multigrade) can only last a day (or even two) in a tray, but what about stop bath (Ilfostop) and fixer (Ilford Rapid Fixer)?

Thanks,
Will

Trays are 810 and can hold 1L when half-full.
Thinking about getting some cardboard for a lid

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

KenTaylor 15 3.1k 2 United Kingdom
16 Jun 2011 6:58PM
Stop bath is fine.
It becomes exhausted often indicated as yellow but not as critical as the developer. The stop and fix can last days while thinking it might be a good idea to pour into a bottles..
You could cover it with a plastic bag.

Its not good practice to have so many prints in the stop bath or the fix which should be removed at the given time not forgetting the agitation.
With the stop bath its only less than a minute.
SlowSong Plus
11 8.6k 30 England
16 Jun 2011 7:00PM
You can get good plastic bottles to store chemicals in. Fill them up to the top and they'll be airtight. Stop bath lasts a while longer than dev but don't keep the fix too long as it won't do its job properly.
chris.maddock 18 3.7k United Kingdom
16 Jun 2011 7:01PM
Best to store the chemicals in bottles - accordion bottles (which squash down so you can expel all the air) used to be available and probably still are.
Failing that, suitable bottles and a bag of marbles to raise the liquid level to the top of the neck will serve the same purpose.

edit - Speedgraphic do the accordion bottles, 4.25 for the 1 litre size, 6.25 for the 2 litre.
JJGEE 15 7.7k 18 England
16 Jun 2011 7:02PM

Quote:thinking it might be a good idea to pour into a bottles..

I used to use those black plastic concertina style bottles.... from I think Jobo or Paterson... doubt if you can get them these days but way back yonder even Jessops sold them ! !