50% Off Portrait Pro + An Extra 15% For EPZ Members With Code: EPZ421

Decent pocket sized cam

Diana 14 2.0k 19 Netherlands
24 Oct 2009 11:44PM
I recently went away and of course want to carry a camera everywhere but get so fed up with the weight of it....and sometimes it is not always appropriate to be walking about with a big cam round my neck in places I donít know (safety issues)

What would anyone recommend as a good pocket size cam for decent snaps.....

thanks if you can help and recommend

Diana
Morpyre Plus
16 1.6k 8 Wales
25 Oct 2009 12:03AM
get a pouch from a typical sized kangeroo and attach it to yourself - if it can hold an entire baby kangeroo it would have more than enough space for a decent dslr + lens and an additional lens and i expect you could fit some memory cards and batteries too. this is my approach due to the fact that i have limited experience of little camera's - i like my tool to be big and a double hand full Tongue
strawman 17 22.2k 16 United Kingdom
25 Oct 2009 12:07AM
I picked up a Canon A570 IS for a portable options. why? well £60 was a good start,
built in IS,
Aperture priority and manual modes
manual focus with hyperfocal option
with Hack firmware you can get RAW and lots of other features.

And being a silver plastic thing people just do not take any notice when you use it.

Canon's G series look to be the more sensible and more expensive option.
25 Oct 2009 12:11AM
yes peter but you dont have to carry a hand bag with all the girlie bits in it too ....and on hols its all day long .....(and I was mugged in Santiago) so just a bit wary now

have you got a linky to that little cam please ?
Pub 11 28
25 Oct 2009 12:26AM
Nikon Coolpix S640 and its very fast to.
strawman 17 22.2k 16 United Kingdom
25 Oct 2009 12:33AM
It was like this but with IS. There looks to none for sale now, sorry Wink
25 Oct 2009 12:35AM
ah OK thanks (whats IS) ?
StrayCat 17 19.1k 3 Canada
25 Oct 2009 12:44AM