Enter the ePHOTOzine Christmas Prize Draw extravaganza!

DELL PC crashed -- AHCI BIOS not installed

VolcanoCowboy 13 157 England
9 Oct 2008 11:39PM
I know this is not a pc forum, but I'm sure there must be someone here who can ateast point me inthe right direction.

My 10 month old Dell desktop running WIndows XP with SP3 has just died. Whilst editing a photo in PSE 6 (with Lightroom open in the background), the computer froze up. I could not reboot using ctrl+alt+del, so had to hard reboot using the power button.

On reboot, the Dell flash screen appears and then the miessage AHCI BIOS not installed!! appears and nothing else happens.

Any suggestions as what to do would be greatly appreciated - I'm a bit of a novice when it comes to this. I do have Windows CDs, and can boot from the OS disk.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

strawman 16 22.1k 16 United Kingdom
9 Oct 2008 11:50PM
First the good news, unless you had multiple drives in a RAID configuration, that message is normal. How long are you leaving it?

My advice is to turn it off at the mains for a bit, then turn on and leave it for 30min all by itself, it is possible that windows needs to to sort itself out. If after that time it is still dead, insert the windows CD and re-start the machine.

Boot from the CD, F12 at power up should get you the boot options and then let windows do a repair. If you have the option, opt for a restore point a couple of days back. If all else fails and it still does not work, opt for a windows re-install
10 Oct 2008 12:01AM
Err normal? this is the first time that I have ever seen this message on any of my dell pcs (am on my third). I've not got a raid configuration, but I have artitioned my single 320 GB drive into 3 smaller particions.

I've left for about 10-15 minutes, so I'll do as you say strawman, and actually leave it overnight as I need to get to bed Tongue
10 Oct 2008 12:04AM