Dust-Aid sensor cleaning system

Strobe 12 1.3k United States
21 Apr 2008 1:42PM
Afternoon all,
Last week I bought Dust-Aid to clean my sensor, the store from which I bought it convinced me it is better than a butterfly sensor cleaning system. I followed the instructions and it only made sensor worse. On deciding to send the camera to Nikon to be cleaned I thought "what the hell" and used a ear bud and a blower. This worked and the sensor is clean with the exception of one small dot.

Has anyone else used Dust-Aid, can I do permanent damage using an ear bud ?

Cheers, Marc

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Coleslaw 14 13.4k 28 Wales
21 Apr 2008 1:45PM
Ear bud? I would never put that in my camera.
keithh 16 25.6k 33 Wallis And Futuna
21 Apr 2008 2:05PM
we used to clean sensors with ear buds and lighter fluid before it became a must have accessory industry.
Wink
da_nige 15 1.2k United Kingdom
21 Apr 2008 2:09PM
Being a student I've always looked for the cheapest way to clean my sensor. I started off with Intemos sticks and now use Dust-Aid. I think Dust-Aid is an excelent product and so simple to use. I have never had any problems with it and it always leaves my sensor totally clean.

Neil
Chrism8 13 939 26 England
21 Apr 2008 2:09PM
imo, the Artic Butterfly is the one and only to have, my sensor's have never been cleaner, and once you've got over the " first time " it's a doddle.

Chris
User_Removed 16 17.9k 8 Norway
21 Apr 2008 2:13PM

Quote:Artic Butterfly is the one and only to have

Totally agree - although it does work out expensive. Cleaned my sensor months ago - and haven't needed to use it again so far!! LOL!!

Wink
Chrism8 13 939 26 England
21 Apr 2008 2:57PM
I've got the lupe as well, so the package was around 100, I clean the sensor when I see a few specks on the images or before I know I'll be shooting loads of images, so it's cleaned every 4-6 weeks.

Chris
silverhorse 12 87
21 Apr 2008 4:54PM

Quote:Afternoon all,