30-Day FREE Amazon Prime Trial - Get Ready For Prime Day 2021

Epson 2100

gib spawny 17 46 1 United Kingdom
21 Apr 2006 2:24AM
I have been using since new for a couple of years and I'm considering an upgrade once the new HP's and Canon printers have been reviewed against the Epson 2400.

So in the mean time I want to decrease my prints cost while as the volumes seems to be imcreasing steadily. I might as well flog the old horse while its days are numbered.

I bought a cheap Ultrachrome system on eBay and the results have been pleasing. You get want you pay for springs to mind. Its seems getting refills is a big problem although there site list them and it came shipped with the ink.

I'm thinking of using good compatibles that offer the same quality and longtivity as the OEMs I have used. I do re-sell some of the larger prints so want to make sure people are getting value.

A new Lyson CIS would be the dream but at 300 quid its seems at lot outlay and after using a cheap version they to require a bit more of attention.

Does any one have the same problems and whats my best solution, perhaps a recommended compatible ink brand and why, are the results better then expected.
_ 16 535 4 Virgin Islands, British
21 Apr 2006 3:37AM
Buy an empty CIS system and use the cartridges from a 7600 or 9600 printer to fill it.
Most CIS systems use 125ml bottles and the 7600 cartridges have 110ml in them so they fit in w/o having to worry about what to do with any extra.

When I used my 2100 this is the way I went and the costs were dropped to around a sixth of running Epson 2100 cartridges.

John
BOB S 19 2.6k
21 Apr 2006 4:38AM
There are many other CIS on the market and in fact the Lyson one does not rate too well, I found one that I was going to get for my Epson 1290 that uses catridges without and sponge in them that got good reviews but at the moment I cannot lay my mouse on the details.

i bought a HP 130nr instead.

Will see if I can find the details and post back.

BOB