Black Friday Deals For Photographers

Exporting photos from lightroom.

18 Sep 2017 12:18PM
Hi
Can anyone help me understand a bit more about lightroom and exporting photos once edited in lightroom as a raw image then exporting them to jpeg.. ive been told that shooting in raw is best so i tried it one day and altho my photos didnt quite turn out great as it was raining and my ISO was set high they ended up a bit grainy and dull, non the less I decided as I am still learning how to use my camera and recently got lightroom to learn how to edit, I decided to see if I could try and make them look a bit decent. I edited them and tweaked them a bit and they looked better than they were, still not great but better! Anyway when I exported them I went into the file on my laptop and they look totally different! Really bright and just awful 😐 I don't know if it's because I have to change setting while exporting or what? I have no idea! The picture looked colourful less hazzy but when I exported they look really hazzy, dull and the white in the photo is so bright! It's of a white horse being ridden and I just don't know what I've done wrong 😐 any help IF ANY would be great. thanks x
18 Sep 2017 12:40PM
When you make changes to a photo in Lightroom it saves those changes in an .XMP file so that your Raw file is left unchanged, which means that if you want to change the way you adjusted it the raw file is still untouched but in the Library the file appears with the changes. Where did you try to export it to?
Reading this may help you to understand the process a little better
https://digital-photography-school.com/how-to-save-images-using-export-in-lightroom/
JackAllTog Plus
11 6.1k 58 United Kingdom
18 Sep 2017 1:04PM
Hi Laura, Welcome to ePhotozine Smile