Save & earn with MPB this Christmas; trade-in and buy pre-loved

Film scanner

CatMouse 18 115 Russian Federation
31 Oct 2004 8:29AM
Hi Everybody!

I want to scan my color negative films in to the digital images (with an opportunity of a conclusion on the printer further).

What do you think about the "Multidevices" with scanner(2400x4800 res.) built-in like EPSON RX600? Does this is a really " smart solution "??? (or i must buy the film scanner only, like Minolta Dimage Dualscan IV, 3200 res.)

Thank you for any Help!

Malik
stevie 17 1.2k 2 United Kingdom
31 Oct 2004 10:05AM
I have no personal experience of a 'multidevice' but I do have a Dualscan IV which I bought recently to start digitising some of my last 30 years of shots. It's very easy to use, relatively cheap and produces very acceptable scans from 35 mm slides and negatives (the most recent two shots in my portfolio were taken in 1972 & 1982 respectively and scanned on this machine)
keith selmes 18 7.4k 1 United Kingdom
31 Oct 2004 10:28AM
Its a difficult question to answer adequately, because it depends a lot on your expections. Some people are very happy scanning 35mm with a 1600 dpi flatbed, and this RX600 should be at least as good. Others will say you need at least 4000dpi for acceptable results.
Personally I've used an epson 2450 flatbed for 35mm, which should be very similar to the RX600. Its sort of OK, but I wasn't really happy with it. A Nikon Coolscan at 4000dpi is entirely different, and very very acceptable.

I would expect that, because of design and construction factors, you would get better results from a dedicated film scanner, even if the resolution were the same. In fact I suspect the film scanners will actually do 3200, whereas in practice the RX600 probably won't live up to its technical specification, which seems to be 2400.

Roughly speaking, if you just want some reasonable snapshots, its probably a good solution.