Want to sell your photos? Get Started!

First ever photography shoot

Attention!

This topic is locked.

Reason : We think the OP has enough info now...

30 Mar 2015 4:07AM
Situation: I am a beginner, I bought my first DSLR (Nikon D5500) in February. I am looking for free experience and I have been asked to do a wedding. I've arranged a consultation for 30/03/15. I am offering my services for free but any prints will be subject to any costs I may occur within an agreed budget of the couple.

I have a contract ready for the Bride and Groom to sign, I also have a Property release form for all the venues to complete.

Do I need the guests to complete a General release form and Minor/Child release forms on top of this?

I have no licence - do I need a licence?
I have no insurance - Do I need insurance?

Is there anything else you think I may have forgotten about and need to consider?

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

StrayCat 15 19.1k 3 Canada
30 Mar 2015 6:34AM
Welcome aboard. You have your hands full.Tongue
StrayCat 15 19.1k 3 Canada
30 Mar 2015 6:54AM
sherlob Plus
13 3.0k 129 United Kingdom
30 Mar 2015 8:41AM
The advice of many on here will be - don't do it.

Are the couple concerned aware of the fact you describe yourself as a beginner?

What kind of results are they expecting? Consider asking them for examples of what they are hoping for. Can you match these expectations?

What will be the consequences of things going wrong on the day? E.g. will there be another photographer there (preferably a pro who can guarantee the results of their work)

And yes - you should consider insurance.
collywobles 15 4.0k 10 United Kingdom
30 Mar 2015 9:10AM

Quote:Is there anything else you think I may have forgotten about and need to consider?