Exclusive Offer - 20% Off Mitsubishi CP-M15E Printer Bundle!

Fuji XF 16-80 - Not worth the money?

20 Nov 2020 9:52AM
I'm looking to make the switch over to fuji (either the X-S10 or X-T4) from m43, and the idea of the 16-80 f/4 lens has intrigued me. It matches my current 12-60 standard zoom on my m43 camera, I like the constant f/4 max aperture, and it's at a good price when part of a kit.

However, the reviews and forums seem to have raised three big issues that could be deal breakers for me:

1. Soft corners. I'd be looking to take this out on hikes to get landscape shots. Some reviewers are saying the corners really don't get anything beyond "fair" sharpness, which isn't ideal. Can anyone confirm/contradict this point?

2. Shutter shock at low shutter speeds. Again, as a landscape photographer I sometimes shoot at quite slow shutter speeds, so if it's not able to provide sharp images then that's a real deal breaker. Has anyone experienced this?

3. Focus wobble while zooming in video. This one is less critical to me at the moment, but I am planning to get more into video so I'd like my next kit lens to be capable in that regard. Has anyone noticed this?

Finally, it seems this lens has gone through quite a number of firmware updates already, have they managed to fix any of these issues?
Techno Plus
12 5.7k 8 England
20 Nov 2020 1:01PM

Quote:1. Soft corners. I'd be looking to take this out on hikes to get landscape shots. Some reviewers are saying the corners really don't get anything beyond "fair" sharpness, which isn't ideal. Can anyone confirm/contradict this point?

Purchased mine in August, firmware v1.05, replacing the Wonderful Kit Lens 18-55mm f2.8-4 I needed that extra reach, I am not disappointed whatsoever, I read those reviews too......Sad