Nik Collection 2018 by DxO - FREE with selected X-Rite products!

Full Frame High ISO Camera For Pro Wrestling

1 Aug 2017 8:56AM
Hi all,

So I am a pro wrestling photographer who spends a lot of time in low lit venues trying to get great action shots, and most of the time having to take thousands just to get a few decent ones. This is because I am using an entry level camera (D3300).

This camera works perfectly fine but the ISO ceiling is 12600. Obviously as I go on I want crisper pictures and I want to focus purely on my subjects and leaving the background in relative black.

308125_1501574034.jpg

The above image was taken by the wrestling industries leader in photography, The Ringside Perspective and whilst I am not looking to take shots of this quality just yet, I want a camera that will help me achieve this.

The questions I have are these:

1) A friend who photographs similar events said I need a full frame camera with a high ISO, is this correct or would I be okay with just an AP-C with a high ISO?

2) What camera's would you recommend? My budget is around the £1.5-£2k mark.

Thanks in advance all

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

mikehit 9 8.0k 13 United Kingdom
1 Aug 2017 9:19AM
If you were to take that image with FF and APS-C then the FF would be better in theory (the APS-C would need a wider lens because of the smaller sensor). I say in theory because a lot depends on how you are gong ot view it - on facebook no-one will be able to tell the diffrence. On most web pages, you will not be able to tell the difference. Blow up to approx. A4 (magazine cover, for example) or larger that is when the FF starts to tell.
The image you posted has had a lot of processing which gives you more scope - noise reduction kills detail and even a the size in your post, I can see a fair amount of smoothing.