Genuine Fractals

hobbs Plus
16 1.3k Japan
15 Nov 2006 1:19PM
Just a quick question, my company are looking at having a photograph blown up to fill a wall 15' by 8'. Now I've spoken with the printers and they are telling me that we need to give them a 100Meg file. What I'm trying to find out from anyone with experience of doing something similair is can Genuine Fractals produce good quality files of this size from a 8Meg pic or as I'm suspecting am I wasteing my time.
Mayfly 15 485 2 United Kingdom
15 Nov 2006 1:28PM
Could always try the Rastorbator if you dont have fractals its a free download Here It's supposed to be good.

As for Enlarging to this size, I would think you would be limited to a size of 40 inches ? with an original file size of 8mb? but I've never used GF or an upscaling prog before.

Cheers,

Andy.
Mayfly 15 485 2 United Kingdom
15 Nov 2006 1:32PM
Found a link to large images created using it too Gallery
AnthonyM 15 428 2 United States
15 Nov 2006 2:48PM
They say they need a 100Meg file, you say you have an 8M photo. Are you both speaking the same language?
Just have to ask, because often when someone requests a (x)Meg image, they are referring to the uncompressed data size. Usually when the end user is speaking in terms of Megs, they mean the file size on disk or the number of pixels in the camera.
This multiple use of identical terms usually results in the initial reaction of how can a 2M JPG from a 6 or 8 Mpixel camera can be exploded to a filesize of 100M? When everyone is using on the same page, it doesn't seem that far of a reach.

For example, a 8Mpixel camera produces, what, roughly a 24M image? Double its resolution (in each direction) and you end up with a 96M image. Not much more will get you to 100M.
GF and similar products boast 400% enlargements with good quality. I think for an 8Mpixel photo, this should get you pretty close to the 100M file size you are looking to get. For standard printing, this should give pretty decent results.