Save & earn with MPB; trade-in and buy pre-loved

Guest Editors

PhilT2 Plus
12 596 35 England
23 Jan 2014 1:37PM
Just read the last few posts on this topic and would hate to see the GE awards being dropped while ever there are members prepared to offer their services. I am an average hobby photographer and unlikely ever to receive many awards or even votes, come to that. The first award (after about 2.5 years on this site) was a GE and I can tell you that it was a great feeling. I was on a high for ages afterwards.
I agree entirely with Fazzer and RobboB
mrswoolybill Plus
15 3.4k 2543 United Kingdom
23 Jan 2014 4:00PM
I've been thinking a lot about this. I like the GE system a lot, as others have mentioned it provides a fresh pair of eyes each week, a different perspective. The results have varied from week to week, but that's all part of life's rich tapestry. It isn't a matter of life or death, it is a way of involving the membership.

Equally however, the site has obviously struggled at times to find volunteers; plus several times new members have signed up, been allocated a week - and then disappeared.

As I recall the system was more or less improvised at short notice in the first place. A member had been complaining loudly in the forums about Pete's choices, and threatening to flounce off. Pete called his bluff. 'OK, if you think you could do a better job, you're on next week... 'or words to that effect. The guy did the week, and then flounced off anyway.

It's probably not a bad thing to give the system a rest. But I hope the site will at some stage consider returning to the idea - maybe for one week a month, maybe with a limit on the number of GEAs that can be allocated for any single day, maybe with a requirement that the GE has been active on the site for a minimum length of time. Just suggestions...
tj Plus
19 2.2k England
23 Jan 2014 4:05PM
Thanks for all your comments and input so far Smile
23 Jan 2014 4:28PM