Save 69% on inPixio Photo Studio 11 Ultimate (discount applied at checkout)

Help with DSLR Settings

thefizz 17 353
15 May 2010 10:31AM
For my company, I have been shooting and scanning medium format trannsparencies of fitted kitchens for reproduction in brochues and magazines. The time required to develop and scan has prompted me to purchase a DSLR. I have little experience with digital so I'm not sure what way to set the following features of the camera (550D).

Colour Space, sRGB or RGB
White Balance
Auto Lighting Optimizer

How should I set these or do I need to worry about them at all?

The kitchens are lit with studio lights and there isn't usually much photoshop work required.
Snapper 16 4.5k 3 United States Outlying Islands
15 May 2010 11:31AM
Can't help on the specific camera, but the main thing is to shoot RAW so that you can change things like the white balance later if you want. The colourspace depands on the intended use, with sRGB being needed for web use. If it is for printing brochures, I'd wait for others to come along and advise. Smile
Jestertheclown 12 8.4k 253 England
15 May 2010 11:33AM
I'm no expert and know nothing about the environment in which you're shooting but if I was in your position, the first thing I would try would be to set the camera to "Auto" and let it do all the work for you and see what you get compared to what you've been doing.
Now, that probably won't be ideal but at least it will give you a starting point on which to base whatever adjustments you need to make.
It might be a good idea to post an image or two on here. You'll probably get some more specific advice that way.

Jester.
User_Removed 18 455 13 United Kingdom
15 May 2010 2:34PM
I would agree with shooting in RAW. It's still going to be quicker in workflow terms to process the RAW than develop and scan.