Enter the ePHOTOzine Christmas Prize Draw extravaganza!

Help with lenses for my Nikon D40

ian_w 14 22 United Kingdom
4 Feb 2008 8:36AM
I'm no expert when it comes to this stuff, so hoping you can help point me in the right direction.

A while ago, I bought my Nikon D40 since I wanted to get into the Digital SLR thing - and since I'm not that good decided with the entry level model than anything higher.

I know that the D40 doesn't have a drive motor in the body, and therefore lenses that don't have a drive motor are effectively fully manual for me in that there is no auto-focus.

Currently, I have the standard 18-55mm Nikkor that came with the camera and I then bought a Sigma 70-300mm APO lens - which as I mentioned doesn't have a drive motor for auto-focus, so all is manual. This I suppose, is good in a sense as means I learn a bit more control.

Now, I'm looking about buying the Nikkor 55-200mm AF-S lens which is similar in respects to my 18-55mm. I'm wondering, would this be a good buy? The VR lenses are expensive so have ruled these out since my camera body is only entry level and not a D70 or higher.

I'd be interested in your thoughts, or other suggestions/recommendations than compatible lenses as I know most are OK for it.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Mook 13 26 England
4 Feb 2008 8:47AM
Ian - have a look on the News pages of the website

Sigma are about to release new lenses with motors for use withall Nikon cameras.
IanA 16 3.0k 12 England
4 Feb 2008 8:57AM
All of the Sigma lenses with HSM will work on the D40/60 as well as some of the new cheaper ones that are marked 'for Nikon'.

Ian
4 Feb 2008 10:37AM
I'm just wondering, are the HSM the new type of lens from Sigma that has the built-in motor?
4 Feb 2008 10:47AM
Had a look at the sigma website, they have a special list for D40, so that clears it up a little bit.