Up To 50% Off Regatta Clothing + An Extra 10% Discount With Code: MSSEXTRA10

if you had to choose?

certx 14 415 1 United States
30 Mar 2007 12:59AM
Ok.... I have no experience with dSLR's, but about to buy one. Now that I've managed to be permitted to buy a Canon 400D (started at 350D, but convinced the bank of wife to let me get the 400), I have the opportunity to get a package with a couple of choices. It will be one of them.

Package A:
Canon EF-S 18-55mm f/3.5-5.6 Zoom Lens
Canon EF 75-300 F/4.0-5.6 III Lens
.45x Wide Angle Conversion Lens

Package B:
Sigma 28-70mm f/2.8-4 High Speed Zoom Lens
Sigma 70-300mm f/4-5.6 DG Macro Lens
.45x Wide Angle Conversion Lens

Package C:
Tamron 28-80mm f/3.5-5.6 AF Lens
Tamron 75-300mm F/4-5.6 LD Macro AF Lens
.45x Wide Angle Convertion Lens

Which would you choose if this was your first dSLR, and you wanted the extended range of the XX-300 zoom, as well as the standard kit lens that comes with the camera? AND, couldn't afford at this particular time to lay out the extra $$ for better lenses right away, but still wanted to get to experience the longer zoom until you could go for a higher end set. So,the purchase WILL be one of the above packages... just looking for which would be the better choice of the three.

Thanks in advance!
Curtis
chrisfroud 16 521
30 Mar 2007 1:21AM
Personally I'd go for package A because 28 mm on a 1.5x crop camera is not very wide-angle at all. Whats the difference in price of all the packages?
kezeka 14 79 United States
30 Mar 2007 1:26AM
I know the canon 75-300 has the softest edges i have ever laid eyes on, even softer than the kit lens. The Sigma 70-300 APO DG macro is an excellent lens for the money. Personally i would suggest that you buy this lens with the canon kit (18-55mm). I havent been exactly pleased with it, but it isn't as awful as people make it out to be. As for the .45x wide angle conversion lens, i have no idea what it is so i can't comment on it.