Save 60% On inPixio Eclipse HDR Pro

iMac for HD Video Editing (from 5D Mark II)

stevemelvin 15 675 2 United Kingdom
2 Mar 2009 1:14AM
I've recently bought both a Hi Definition Camcorder (Canon HF10) and the 5D Mark II. I'm pretty sure my PC won't be up to the job of editing the video files they produce. It's a single core AMD Athlon64 1.80Ghz processor with 2Gb RAM, running XP. So, I've been thinking of upgrading my PC.

Given that most of what I now do on my PC is photo editing (and video editing in the future) as well as internet and emails, without so much need for MS Office anymore, I have been tempted to upgrade to an iMac.

I already have an excellent Dell 24" monitor and the indulgence of having two 24" screens in tandem is very tempting!

However, as I am completely new to HD video editing I am not sure if the iMac is up to the job. I would guess that it is, and this may be a completely stupid/naive question, but I just want to check with some people on here with experience of video editing.

The relevant parts of the spec of the iMac I'm looking at are:

2.8GHz Intel Core 2 Duo
6MB shared L2 cache
ATI Radeon HD 2600 PRO with 256MB of GDDR3 memory
2Gb RAM (I will upgrade this to 4Gb)

Will this cope with practical amounts of HD editing?

It is possible to upgrade the processor to 3.06Ghz and upgrade the graphics card to a NVIDIA GeForce 8800 GS with 512MB of GDDR3 memory.

Would either of these upgrades by necessary/worthwhile/sufficient?

Any help would be much appreciated.

Thanks,
Steve
park my ferret 17 1.0k United Kingdom
2 Mar 2009 1:49AM
the pc will find it difficult to even play the 5d mk11 files.

I had to buy an imac, I got the bottom of the range one and upgraded the ram to 4 gig with crucial memory ... I find that although it does cope - it's still not great, so I'd possibly reccomend getting something more powerful than mine

Paul
Carabosse 17 41.5k 270 England
2 Mar 2009 1:59AM