Affinity Photo - professional photo editing with 50% off!

Is it hard to earn a living from photography?

18 Sep 2012 1:22PM
I'm retired, but if I wanted to make photography an occupation it would be very difficult.
Writing a kingfisher book opened many doors for me, and I can't even get it published.
I am a Sony advocate photographer, because Sony were attracted by the variety of kingfisher photographs I produce.
This gives me work at Sony events, but they are few and far between.
The knowledge and photographs gained in writing the book, led me to give talks to photo clubs and wildlife societies.
these would not pay the mortgage. I photograph Dog agility events, which continue through the winter. print sales are a few hundred pounds per show.
Weddings are lucrative, and portrait and pets photos would help put food on the table.
According to Amateur photographer magazine, a professional has proceeds from photography in excess of 5,000 per year. To do a dozen weddings a year would make you a professional,but not earn you a living.
Most top photographers I know specialize: Motor sports, fashion, commercial advertising.
Like music and art, only the brave and best succeed.
It would be interesting to hear your' views and experiences?

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Big Bri 18 16.5k United Kingdom
18 Sep 2012 1:37PM
Short answer: if it were easy, we would all be doing it.

A good friend of mine is trying exactly what you are doing and has found business down considerably this year. He has another job, so doesn't rely on it, which is good as I don't think he's even recovered the cost of the equipment he bought....
18 Sep 2012 2:15PM
As someone who has worked in the media on a leading magazine for 20+ years, may I say this: