GB Sports Photographer & The Panasonic LUMIX S1

is it time to give up?

PatriciaWilson 15 615 58 Greece
2 Mar 2011 6:47PM
I'm looking for a little advise and honesty and deliberately chose the professorial end of the forum for this reason.
I'm an amateur photographer and only started taking photography seriously when I joined epz.
My camera, a 1Dmkii is on it's last legs, and I have a good range of lenses, and now I'm considering giving it all up.
I thought I'd let fate decide and if I didn't win anything in the xmas draw, I'd throw the towel in. I just looked and I didn't... but then, dam it all, I got an email from Getty inviting me to submit 35 images to them that they had seen on my website.

I'm fully booked with weddings on the Greek islands for this year and part of next, and I do sell some travel images with stock libraries (but not that many), I suspect I'm crap and only sell to people who know less than me about photography, although I have sold some to Nat. Geographic.

I wondered if any one could tell me if they thought there was a right time to bin the camera and give it up?
Also if anyone else had had this sort of invitation from Getty?

Should I invest in another top of the range camera, or swan off on a cruise with my husband (We are both in our sixties).

Any views appreciated,
Patricia.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Tandberg 16 1.2k 2 England
2 Mar 2011 6:55PM

Quote:Should I invest in another top of the range camera, or swan off on a cruise with my husband (We are both in our sixties).

Only you can decide that, know matter what anyone else says.