Judging our ePHOTOzine competitions.

Colin Smale 17 500 England
29 Oct 2004 7:49PM
I wonder, do you prefer your entries to be judged by an expert who will take note of sharpness, does the pic fit the comp title, who will recognise our artistic abilities and recognise the picture for what it is worth based on his/her experience or are you ok with members voting for best pic ??

Members of our local camera club are made up of absolute beginners to working professionals. Up until last year, whenever we had a club competition, members used to look at the rows of prints and then choose the one they felt was the winner and mark its number on a ballot paper.
We now invite an outside experienced judge to do the job.
Why ? We realised that the beginners who obviously did not have the experience, were voting for the print they thought was the 'prettiest' or 'most appealing' an out of focus shot of e.g. a seal pup with those lovely eyes would likely win even if the pic didn't fit the catagory.

I can see the appeal of including us members to participate in part of the running of this great site but personally I wish an expert could be the sole judge of our work, otherwise, no complaints !!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Carabosse 17 41.4k 270 England
29 Oct 2004 7:52PM
Heaven preserve us from "experts"!
FrankThomas 17 2.8k United Kingdom
29 Oct 2004 8:02PM
Expert - Ex is a has been and spurt is a drip under pressure
29 Oct 2004 8:41PM
Ha! Ha! Like it Frank. I must remember that one and I now declare myself a 'non-expert' - at anything.....
vtoth 16 271 Croatia
1 Nov 2004 1:28AM
well i agree with colin to a certain extent...

although this was still not as bad a case as ive seen on some other sites...
Mixpix 16 1.1k England
1 Nov 2004 7:49AM