Amazon Kindle Unlimited Offer: 1-Month For FREE!

Magazine articles and photo software

KatieR 17 6.2k 6
19 Oct 2005 12:42AM
Should I be surprised that the image manipulation software used in magazines for their "how to" articles is nearly always Photoshop CS rather than Elements? Sometimes articles refer to such very basic tasks that they are clearly aimed at the beginner - but surely CS is a top-end program? I am not a beginner anymore, but I don't have CS - the cost is prohibitive alone, and I am not sure the PC could take it, anyway!
Do most people get CS rather than Elements even when they start out in digital imaging or are the magazines basically in a deal to encourage people to buy software which is not necessarily appropriate for them? I have bought many of the commonly available photo mags during the last few months and find this to be a common problem for me using only Elements.
Just thought it might be an interesting area for discussion.
KatieR 17 6.2k 6
19 Oct 2005 12:52AM
Perhaps I should try and clarify - I find that those articles which cover the kinds of things I would like to be able to do always seems to use CS. While some magazines refer to Elements, the tasks they use it for don't seem to be those I am interested in. Why am I finding this? Am I just at a funny age?
conrad 17 10.9k 116
19 Oct 2005 12:52AM
I thought I'd never be able to get and use CS for the same reasons you mention, but I was proven wrong on both counts - you can get it cheaper than most people think, completely legitimately, have a look here , for instance. And the system requirements are not as bad as I thought (also found when you follow that link).

Conrad

Edit: At the moment Im using PhotoShop 6 when my wife's pc is free, and Elements on another. And yes, Elements is a lot more limited in it's possibilities. So that must be the reason.
SteveCharles 18 2.3k 18 England
19 Oct 2005 12:58AM