Regatta Summer Sale: Up To 60% Off Outdoor Clothing

Member of The Week - KathyW - week 6 - Jan 14th - 21st

KathyW 17 1.8k 12 Norfolk Island
15 Jan 2011 3:22PM
Hi Grampy, I have been paid to take photos so I guess you could say I'm a working photographer on a part-time basis - one of those people all the real pros hate Wink

Struggling to remember, but I think my first job was photographing windows and conservatories (outside on a very dismal drizzly day) The last job was product shots of contractors tools - I never would have believed there were so many different types of shovels... Very glamorous being a photographer!

Alas, nobody has ever asked me to photograph a landscape Sad
brian1208 18 11.8k 12 United Kingdom
15 Jan 2011 7:51PM
Do you still get the same excitement when you open a new image and realise its a "goody" (or have you got the the level where you expect them all to be good now Wink ) ?
15 Jan 2011 9:03PM
More surprise than excitement Brian. I have now got to the level where I expect one shot out of every hundred to be slightly less awful than the rest... Wink

I have recently started deleting a lot of also-ran images immediately I've downloaded them for a few reasons -
1. there's only so many external hard drives I can fit on the windowsill.
2. if it's a cr@p shot now it isn't going to be any better tomorrow...
3. I just don't have the time it will take to spend hours mangling it into something I'm not totally ashamed to put my name to.

I will probably regret this, but there's always a better shot to be taken anyway Smile
Scutter Plus
13 1.7k 6 United Kingdom
15 Jan 2011 9:09PM
How much do you think your agricultural roots help with your photography? Is it a fundamental connection or just a convenient coincidence?
15 Jan 2011 9:12PM

Quote:there's only so many external hard drives I can fit on the windowsill.

What back-up process do you use, just to secondary hard drive or do you have some other device as well?