Save 15% On Excire Foto Software With Code: EXCIRE-EP

Most basic Terms of Digital Photography such as...

17 Apr 2004 12:15AM
Hello everyone. Although its been a month I am attached with a camera. And I have no experience of taking snaps from before this month. Now there are a few things confusing me a lot. Terms .. Any help would be great.. Little over view here in forum or the link of any other site who provide the basic guide.

ISO, I need to know what actually it does.. some time it work sometimes not. so I want to understand it..

DOF...

Exposure, although I kinda get a figure what it do, but still need some thing to know it better.

and stuffs like that.. will be waiting to read
Anthony 20 5.7k 17 United Kingdom
17 Apr 2004 12:43AM
Hi, welcome to the site. There will be others with further information, but heres what I know, I hope it helps.

ISO - this is the sensitivity of the film/digital sensor. For example, 50 ISO (or ASA) is a very fine grain/noise. I would say its ideal for very bright conditions. A higher number ISO, would give a greater sensitivity, but with an increase in grain/noise, better for lower light situations. In essence you are increasing the film/digital sensor's sensitivity to light.

DOF - is Depth of Field. The area of sharpness in front of and behind the focus point. The effect is like having a greater DOF for a landscape, to give sharp images front to back. A shallower DOF would give a blurred foreground and background. The f-stop settings are used to vary this effect depending on what you are trying to achieve. f1.4 or so, gives a very shallow DOF, f5.6 gives an approximate setting for a portrait, and f11 or greater would be used for maximum DOF, like a landscape.