My Rights on a second hand dishwasher that went on fire.

29 Sep 2014 1:04AM
You took the risks buying second hand goods from charity shop. I am not too good at law implications in this case, but if the shop refuses to remove the goods and repay the money you will have not much else to do as to go to court.

It will cost, and if you loose (which is entirely possible if the item in question was sold "as is" and without warranty) the court expenses will multiply that moderate sum you have already paid for the diswasher.

I would not think that manufacturer has sent their recall warnings to every machine user in person and every second hand goods seller in particular. The charity shop cannot be blamed for not looking for possiblle recalls on every goods they sell, otherwise it would be their main activity.

When buying second- hand goods I would always look for some written warranty statement, unless the seller issues some general "no return or exchange" warning. If you don't have one-you out of luck, sorry.

But talk to the shop anyway, or to the manufacturer if factory warranty period has not expired.

Good luck!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

keithh 15 25.5k 33 Wallis And Futuna
29 Sep 2014 3:56AM

Quote:
You took the risks buying second hand goods from charity shop.

Not true. The law is the same whether it's for second hand or new. The goods must be fit for the purpose. The only thing that the sale of goods act states, is that your expectations must be reasonable. In other words, don't complain that there is a scratch, however a dishwasher should be expected to wash dishes. There is no such thing as "sold as seen".
29 Sep 2014 5:31AM
Knowing the law does not enforce it automatically. There are some leeways in criminal law, leave alone commercial one. The final word is always after the court, and on occasions like this engaging with it may be not worth the money. This is the message I tried to pass on without pretending to be the law expert.