Amazon Kindle Unlimited Offer: 1-Month For FREE!

Neewer Mono / Tripod.

Pygar 3 2 United Kingdom
23 Jun 2021 11:48AM
As any photographer on a limited budget, i looked into purchasing a multi functional tripod/monopod. As a complete novice in this area was drawn to Neewer's 168cm Carbon fibre mono/tripod. reasonably cheap, light weight easy to handle. So purchased said item and for three years OK. Then one day very recently the tripod leg broke at the hinge of one of the legs. Ah thought I contact Neewer and seek the possibility of purchasing a new part...well after several emails they eventually got the idea I wasn't asking to purchase a new one and asked for the old order number. I even supplied them pictures of the tripod, the good leg and damaged leg Duly sent and the reply was remarkable, sorry we cant help you however we can give you 10% discount on a new 168cm mono/tripod. Again I felt like i was running in circles. It seems they are only interested in selling New and have no interest in customer support with supplying spare parts. I appreciate that it was three years old and so no warranty but a spare leg would have been so easy. So I shall leave it up to you to think on do i buy something and then not have any possible support mechanisms after the warranty or do I look for equipment from someone who I can contact and work closely with and has some form of physicality. Oh and if anyone has a broken Neewer tripod 168cm let me know, its seems my only option apart from buy another or just use the monopod.
Jestertheclown 12 8.5k 253 England
23 Jun 2021 12:40PM
Neewer's stuff is OK but it's obviously bargain basement gear, built down to a price and I'm not at all surprised that there's no spare parts dept. Truth is, all their goods are probably sourced from elsewhere and given appropriate stickers.

For example, Neewer sell certain speedlights that are identical to ones with Mieke labels on them.