PortraitPro Flash Sale - 50% Off + Get An Extra 20% Off with Code: EZ89

New Interest in Black and White

10 Mar 2017 12:12PM
In recent times, I have been exploring black & white landscapes. I don't use the method you mention, but instead I mentally visualise the scene in b&w. I can certainly understand how a b&w preview in jpeg would be useful. I'm a beginner at the moment, but I've enjoyed it a lot and I will further explore b&w photography. It requires a different approach and thought process to colour. It's great to try something different, as it can make you think more about it. I expect you will appreciate that a subject that doesn't work in colour could be perfect for b&w and vice versa.

I will upload some of my b&w efforts in the near future. I look forward to see any you have on your profile and future efforts.

Have you tried Nik Silver Efex 2 Pro 2? I have read it's very capable and popular software for b&w. It's also free. I have the software, but I haven't put it use yet!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

arhb 13 3.4k 68 United Kingdom
10 Mar 2017 2:48PM
So my Cokin orange filter (P002) arrived today.
First thing to mention is that it adds 2 stops to the exposure(eg without filter = 1/60 ~ with filter = 1/15).
3 shots below;
1 is Canon camera 'Standard' colour.
2 is Canon camera 'Monochrome'
3 is with Orange filter in 'Monochrome'.
63339_1489157320.jpg

So, the orange filter brightens the shuttered wooden doors and darkens the pale grey/blue walls slightly.
So to confirm, filters do affect the digital jpg(on camera screen) and the resulting RAW file once uploaded to ACR(and I would image, Lightroom.
StrayCat 16 19.1k 3 Canada
10 Mar 2017 7:13PM

Quote:Have you tried Nik Silver Efex 2 Pro 2? I have read it's very capable and popular software for b&w. It's also free. I have the software, but I haven't put it use yet!