Noise in HDR images

andytvcams 18 10.4k 1 United Kingdom
16 Feb 2007 8:40PM

Quote:I remember the pier shot keith with the totally weird lighting did this use HDR

Defiantly not.

That was the real thing.
Phil_D 13 81 Scotland
16 Feb 2007 8:41PM

Quote:That boat doesn't look like night-time to me.

I can confirm it was daylight . . . of sorts!

Phil.
ZenTog 18 7.9k 1 England
coming from the expertise of Keiths ,there were probally a lot i didnt spot, but then i am no expert at landscape imagery
culturedcanvas 14 4.7k 59 United Kingdom
The reason i think you should use more than 3 exposures for even a relatively low dynamic range day shot is because of the same reason I would advise someone not to make extreme exposure adjustments at the raw stage.

I would work on .25 either way as a max really ... and although the software overrides some of this I can still see that a logical reason for using more images. Depending on the complexity of the program this can only aid image quality.

However I am not saying that all current HDR programs would benefit from this at the moment.

Dan
keithh 16 25.7k 33 Wallis And Futuna
16 Feb 2007 8:43PM
Nope the pier shot was a one off and bust lens, paul..I've looked back and the first HDR I posted on EPZ was Sept 2004
Phil_D 13 81 Scotland
16 Feb 2007 8:44PM
Keith, would it be fair to say, following your logic above, that to rely on only three shots, those three shots must be ****-on. Had I gone for 5 shots, 2 stops apart, by default the lowest exposure would have been closer to what the software was looking for?

Phil.
16 Feb 2007 8:45PM
Not necessarily ... no matter what number of shots the mid, most under and over exposed shots should be spot on.

D
ZenTog 18 7.9k 1 England
16 Feb 2007 8:46PM
Iloved the light on that pier shot it was a wonderful range of tones, I am right in thinking the peir shot with the lifeboat