Regatta Winter Sale - Up To 70% Off

Now I Want To Earn Money

Georgias_Dad 14 60 England
7 Dec 2008 11:43PM
Now I'm going to charge people for my portraits do I need to get them to sign anything before I take their photos?

Many thanks
Michael
Badger 19 4.7k 20 United Kingdom
7 Dec 2008 11:48PM
I'd suggest a contract!
cambirder 18 7.2k England
7 Dec 2008 11:48PM
Yes, a cheque!
7 Dec 2008 11:52PM
what sort of contract matt I'm new to this

I prefer cash cambirder Wink
7 Dec 2008 11:57PM
Essentially a contract of sale or to perform a service. You may be better off speaking to somebody from a legal background, who could draw one up for your purpose.

It would need to cover every aspect from any deposit payments, what you guarantee, any get out clauses for illness or other unforeseen circumstances, final payments... I'm sure there are much more things that would need to be added, hence the suggestion for a lawyer or solicitor.

As a starter, you could try google for generic contracts.
8 Dec 2008 12:00AM
cheers matt
I'll get some sleep now and do that tomorrow.

I was much easier when I just photographed friend and family
agoreira 18 6.0k Wales
8 Dec 2008 8:54AM

Quote:

I prefer cash cambirder

Don't we all! Except the tax man! I hope you are not intending to hide your ill gotten gains from him!
pentaxpete 16 718 1 United Kingdom
8 Dec 2008 6:12PM
if you are on the 'Beginners'' Forum you should NOT be charging until you have got some more 'Advanced' experience-surely you don't know all there is to know about interesting lighting, posing singles and couples and groups,how to talk to clients etc etc .
8 Dec 2008 8:07PM

Quote:If you are on the 'Beginners'' Forum you should NOT be charging.

Why? If he is being asked to take a portrait, why shouldn't he charge for his time or the image? What I'd say is price the product accordingly, bear in mind your time, materials, equipment...
robdebank 13 165 United Kingdom
8 Dec 2008 8:56PM