Up To 50% Off Regatta Clothing + An Extra 10% Discount With Code: MSSEXTRA10

Olympus E410 Lens advice please!

Chanty79 New Member
3 May 2021 12:57PM
Hi everyone Smile I'm new to all this and am looking for some advice if anyone can help?

I have a old Olympus E410 that i bought second hand several years ago but have only just started using properly.
I want to get 1 or 2 other lenses for it. I currently have 14-42mm and 40-150mm lenses for it.
I want a lens that can get me closer to wildlife and that's good for landcapes. Do I need a zoom lens and a wide angle lens or is there a lens that combines the 2 requirements?

I'm looking at several Olympus lenses on Ebay but i'm not sure which to go for? There is a 70-300mm, a 12-60mm and a 9-18mm.
Which would you say is best for what I require?

Any advice would be really appreciated!

Thanks, Jess Smile
3 May 2021 2:51PM
Hi Jess,

You've pretty much answered your own question. To get close-ups of wildlife you will need a longer lens than the 150mm maximum of your existing lenses. The 70-300mm lens that you mention would be a good option as it isn't too expensive (compared to some lenses). The higher the focal length the more magnification you will get. So, the subject will appear larger in your image.
For landscapes, if you want to include a wider view of your subject, then you will need a lens with a shorter focal length than the 14mm of your existing lenses. The 12-60mm you mention would be a little wider, although it's not that much wider than your existing 14-42mm lens. The 9-18mm would give a much wider view, which is useful for some landscapes, there was also an 11-22mm lens that would be a little wider than the 12-60mm, but not as wide as the 9-18mm.
So, the two lenses that would probably suit the subjects best are the 70-300mm and the 9-18mm.
Lastly, make sure that they are FourThirds fitting lenses, rather than the newer Micro FourThirds, which won't fit your camera.

Hope this helps
Chris
Chanty79 New Member