Get 20% Off PortraitPro 22 With Our Exclusive Code

Other brands !

Carabosse 18 41.8k 270 England
15 Mar 2013 11:34AM
There are often threads on here where people are seeking a pocketable camera to supplement their DSLR. The Pentax Q is never mentioned: which I guess speaks volumes.
Ploughman 9 28 3 United Kingdom
15 Mar 2013 11:49AM
Newdevonian, I am not incredulous and sorry you think that is how I sound. However, I wonder how such a poor set of sales figures stack up against so many very good reviews particularly for the K5 and K30.

You do not have to ask -does he - rather, ask me directly if I work for Pentax. The answer is that I do not. Neither am I a fanboy of Pentax and I am well aware of the sales figures.
I have been an enthusiastic photographer for over 55 years using various cameras and have made money doing so. Now I am having to slow down because of poor health. This gives me the opportunity to partake in superb sites such as this one in a polite, and non aggressive manner. No sir, I am never `incredulous`.

Richard.
15 Mar 2013 11:59AM

Quote:However, I wonder how such a poor set of sales figures stack up against so many very good reviews

Are the reviews better than those on comparable products from, e.g. Nikon and Canon?
User_Removed 17 3.3k 4 United Kingdom
15 Mar 2013 12:00PM

Quote:How many of you researched other brands including Pentax before making the decision on what to buy

Even if Pentax were to come up with a camera whose sensor produced clearer and less noisy pictures (at high ISO) than anything Canon or Nikon do I'd probably not buy it.

I want to buy into a VHS kind of system not a Philips V2000.

If I want a third-party remote control, lens, flash, battery, battery-grip, mains charger or I want to rent a lens or buy a second hand lens I want to be totally spoilt for choice. With Canon I am, with Pentax I'm not. I wouldn't consider that brand for that reason.
cameracat 17 8.6k 61 Norfolk Island
15 Mar 2013 12:20PM