Save 15% On Excire Foto Software With Code: EXCIRE-EP

Paying to be on a recommended suppliers list?

trivets12 17 1.3k
15 May 2015 9:13PM
An up and coming, very lovely venue in my area has advertised a wedding fayre next month. I emailed them, as I photographed there last year, and said I would very much like to be one of their recommended suppliers.
They sent me a very lovely reply listing their fayres and suppliers etc, and said they would be very happy to add me to their recommended suppliers list - on payment of 195 + vat!
This will include:
A full page listing in their brochure
A section on their website
Automatic inclusion in their wedding fayres
Gallery with full accreditation.
I was slightly surprised that they asked for payment for this as I'd not heard of this before.
Is this, generally, what venues do?
Do you think it's worth it?
sherlob Plus
15 3.2k 131 United Kingdom
15 May 2015 10:05PM
I'm no pro, so I'm speaking from the outside looking in, but it sounds like you getting a a lot of promotion for not much money...
Snapper 16 4.5k 3 United States Outlying Islands
15 May 2015 10:17PM

Quote:I'm no pro, so I'm speaking from the outside looking in, but it sounds like you getting a a lot of promotion for not much money...

+1 on that thought!
lemmy 14 2.9k United Kingdom
16 May 2015 4:45PM
Not very fair to wedding couples, is it? You become a recommended photographer by giving this company some money? It reminds me of WH Smiths, where they have a book of the week. Critically acclaimed? A great author? entertaining? No, none of those. No one at Smiths reads it. It is Book of the Week because they publishers paid for it to be so. It's a con.

Get a few of what seem typical wedding photographers these days, anyone who can afford a DSLR and hold it the right way round, on that place's recommended list and a 'proper' wedding photographer is lumped right in there with them. It's a breach of trust, unfair and unprofessional.
alansnap 17 577 26 United Kingdom