Change gear with our partner, MPB

Photographing Pregnancy

Camaro 15 7 United Kingdom
31 Jul 2006 1:52AM
A close friend of mine has asked that I record the progress of her first pregnancy with a series of black & white photographs. She has suggested that she may like a few nude shots be included. I am very new to portrait photography and would really appreciate a few pointers with regards to suitable poses/general settings.

I don't have access to a studio and therefore will be shooting at my friend's home using Canon EOS20d, 17-85mm, 70-200mm and 580EX flash.

Any help, tips, suggestions gratefully received!

Many thanks

Glynn
mikeb380 15 39 United States
31 Jul 2006 3:53AM
Glynn; I think the 17-85 would be best for what you want. You have a portrait lens (85mm) for the head and shoulders stuff and go wider gradually as you go to full length. I prefer available light as much as possible. Have your friend posed at a window with sheer curtains if you can. Let he be looking out, this is good for a 3/4 length shot and you have natural light. You can always use a reflector from foamcore or aluminum foil to help light the dark side of her face. I think the same pose would be a very good nude also. Since you have no film or processing to worry about costs, experiment. Try not to use the flash unless it swivels and you can bounce off a wall or a ceiling (tilt) you can also get a diffuser for the flash or just use a white hankerchief to diffuse light. Bottom of a baby talc bottle is good for that also. A rocker with window light falling on her would be good, also. Use a tripod as you will be shooting a lot of slow shutter speeds. Use fairly large aperture to blur background. you can use trial and error to get the result you want.