Save 69% on inPixio Photo Studio 11 Ultimate (discount applied at checkout)

Please criticise my site!

Mike2176 14 2
3 Apr 2007 2:58PM
Hi people,

I'm a student and for part of my coursework I've decided to make a website. For the next part of my project, i need people to critique the site, so i can evaluate it, including other people's advice / opinions. It's still evolving at the moment and there's still plenty to do, but I'd be very interested to hear what other Photographers think of the site as it was when i first published it.

If you could spare a few moments to answer a few questions I'd really appreciate it! Please feel free to say anything you like, i dont get offended! Be harsh!

- What are your first impressions of the design and layout of the site?

- Do you think the site's identity ('Neon Playground') is memorable?

- Do you think the submission procedure is easily understandable? (follow the 'submit' link)

- What would you change?

Thanks people, really appreciate it. Mike

url: www.neonplayground.co.uk

(please post comments on this thread, as opposed to using the 'contact' link on the site)
PatrickSmith 16 1.2k 2 United States
3 Apr 2007 3:12PM
Hi Mike, I only have a few minutes so here it is:

- What are your first impressions of the design and layout of the site?

The flash intro, while looking very artistic, is a little 'in your face' and when I clicked on it to enter, nothing happened. I can click twice really fast and get in, but it is not obvious what to do. The layout and menus look good, but when I try to go back to the main menu, I often get kicked all the way back to the intro.

Overall though, it has a good edge to it once some kinks are worked out.

I'm still not sure what it means. Does it mean that it is a site for glamour/night club/city life photography? If so, then it is fine. But if you want a wider range of photographers to join in, then you will need a name that has a broader appeal.