Amazon Music Unlimited Offer: 3-Months For FREE!

Portraiture is so pass

rletham 17 890 United Kingdom
26 Apr 2005 1:25AM
I think that to take good photos; you have to have a passion for the subject you are shooting. Sure it takes skill too but without the passion, the photos can come across technically fine but rather sterile. My area of interest has always been people shots and I always thought that it was a popular style on this site but last night I went to the Readers Choice pages and was surprised to find that only 4 pictures in the last hundred were people shots. Four percent? I know that landscapes have always been the most popular but I was gob smacked at how few people shots there were. Do you think its a downward trend?
conrad 16 10.9k 116
26 Apr 2005 1:37AM
I can only speak for myself, of course, Rab, but on the one hand I dont take too many people shots because Im not good at it (probably lack of experience with the subject). On the other hand, I do like a good portrait, but there arent many that I really like. Most portrait thumbnails get skipped by me, I dont even open them. But then when I do find one I really like, I will view the image, click - and if I can find anything to say, I will comment. Thats a rare occurrence with me and portraits, though, I have to admit.

Conrad
26 Apr 2005 1:39AM
My passion lies in people too but I've been trying other things recently in an attempt to try and understand different aspects of photography. I could be wrong but I dont think you can really appreciate the skill involved in some subjects unless you try them. But I have noticed a downward trend in portraits on the site, it seems to have shifted towards nature. I'd love to do more people and am looking at a project at the moment but its going to take some time and organisation.
kit-monster 17 3.7k 2 Singapore
26 Apr 2005 1:44AM
Totally agree with you about passion - that's what staggers me about some pro's who cover so many styles.