Get 20% Off PortraitPro 22 With Our Exclusive Code

Resolution Problem

ryhne 4 2
20 Jun 2017 11:30AM
I started photography as a Hobby a year ago and I'm still new in it.
I have a Canon 750d with ef-s18-55mm lens
but the photos don't have high resolution especially when I zoom in with my laptop, it gets blurry. I tried to use ios100 but still not good.
how can I take photos with better resolution? should I edit the photos with photoshop? or buy a new lens?
Philh04 16 2.3k United Kingdom
20 Jun 2017 11:44AM
Without seeing examples it is hard to give any advice. Your combo should give acceptably sharp results however there a many factors in play, what aperture? What shutter speed? What focus mode? Number of focus points in use? How much are you zooming in on your laptop?

Before going much further a lot of things need to be eliminated. So try and upload an example that demonstrates your problems, perhaps with a screen shot of your zoomed in image.

Phil
Carabosse 18 41.8k 270 England
20 Jun 2017 11:44AM
Welcome to EPZ. Smile

Resolution and blurriness are two different things. Resolution is basically the size of the photo.

If your photos are blurry, try using a tripod and see if that helps.
thewilliam2 4 1.6k United Kingdom
20 Jun 2017 11:47AM
I don't know Canon cameras, but are you expecting too much in the way of resolution? How many pixels does your camera have? Are you using too much magnification?

The Nikon equivalent of your 18-55 is a very good lens indeed but it still needs to be focused in the right place. A few years back, one of my "mentees" was letting his camera focus on the background between the two heads in the shot. This was sorted once I'd taught him to lock the focus on the subject's eyes and then re-compose the shot.