Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS
  • REVIEWS
  • INSPIRATION
  • COMMUNITY
  • COMPETITIONS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Christmas Prize Draw 2017

Sale of Goods Act - Buying camera equipment and other goods

Chris_L Plus
3 4.2k United Kingdom
17 Jun 2017 8:33AM
I believe, and have always believed, that your contract is with the retailer. They should be your first point of contact if something goes wrong with the equipment you've purchased. Even if it's through an auto update, the law hasn't changed.

Another member is stating here that "your contract is with the manufacturer"

Is he right?

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

franken Plus
15 4.5k 4 United Kingdom
17 Jun 2017 8:45AM
I'm no expert on these things but I have assumed it's the retailer as thats who you paid for the item in question.

Perhaps this may clear it up?

http://www.consumerrightsexpert.co.uk/shop-manufacturer-responsible-for-faulty-goods.html
arhb Plus
10 3.3k 68 United Kingdom
17 Jun 2017 8:55AM
I have generally found it to be with the retailer, in that a refund is given when goods are faulty etc.
However, when I was involved in a small gas explsion 30yrs ago, it was the manufacturer who was ultimately responsible.
steveh5 6 90 United Kingdom
17 Jun 2017 9:10AM
I beleive that the contract iw with the retailer, but in the case mentioned the fault was with the firmware update. This makes it between the manufacturer who released the update and the costomer, not the retailer who only sold the camera.
Chris_L Plus
3 4.2k United Kingdom
17 Jun 2017 9:44AM
Steve, Regardless of manufacturing faults or manufacturer's liability for a fault your contract, under Sale of Goods Act, is with the retailer.
Dave_Canon 11 1.3k United Kingdom
17 Jun 2017 10:24AM