Nik Collection 2018 by DxO - FREE with selected X-Rite products!

Software to edit photos

anemone 3 3
20 May 2016 2:00PM
Hello,

I am new in the ephotozine community and the photography world, but I would like to know what programs are you using to edit photos?

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

seahawk 12 1.3k United Kingdom
20 May 2016 2:20PM
I do almost all of my editing in Lightroom and recommend it.
User_Removed 5 328 United Kingdom
20 May 2016 3:38PM
We do minimal editing of our stuff and use Picasa (dvelopment now discontinued) and Fastone - both free - as editors.

There's very little we need that we can't do with free software,
KarenFB Plus
13 5.3k 173 England
20 May 2016 4:27PM
Hi Petra, welcome to EPZ! Smile

I use Photoshop Elements 9. This has all I need (and can cope with), but is cheaper then the full Photoshop programme.

I know there are free ones you can download from the internet (Gimp has been recommended to me, but I know there are others), but as I haven't used them I don't know what they are like.

I'm looking forward to seeing some of your work! Smile
Daffy1 11 381 Ireland
20 May 2016 4:41PM
Lightroom
dark_lord Plus
15 2.3k 576 England
20 May 2016 5:17PM
Welcome from me too.

Conversion from RAW using Lightroom. Photoshop for any further tweaking or heavy processing, including the use of Nik software as a plugin (works in Lightroom and Photoshop).
StrayCat 15 19.1k 3 Canada
20 May 2016 6:37PM
I use Lightroom and Photoshop, but wouldn't hesitate to recommend ether of the Photoshop Elements versions; virtually all will cover your needs for some time to come, and when you're ready, a move to Lightroom and/or Photoshop is a piece of cake. Welcome to Epz.

Denny
JJGEE 14 7.5k 18 England
20 May 2016 7:38PM
I started out with Elements 2 then on to Lightroom for many years, about 7 versions, but have now moved on to Capture One Pro 9.

If you have a Sony camera then go for Capture One Express ( for Sony ) which is free.