Nik Collection 2018 by DxO - FREE with selected X-Rite products!

sport Horse Trials

johnmac 8 140
2 Aug 2016 4:35PM
Hi

I've looked at the forum and there's quite a bit about sport particularly football but not Horse Trials.

I'm hoping someone can can give me advice. I recently been to a few horse trials and photographed the event and really enjoyed it. I always contact the organisers first to gain permission and always seek out the official photographers and introduce myself and inform him/her that I have had permission from the organisers and that I'm an amateur photographer and I'm taking photographs for personal use and not for commercial or personal gain.

The organiser are strict when giving me permission that I do not sell any images and rightly so it would be totally unfair on the professional guys doing it for a living.

My question is what are the requirements and how would I go about obtain a permit/license.

look forward to any replies

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

keithh 15 25.5k 33 Wallis And Futuna
2 Aug 2016 7:59PM
You steal the job from the professional you're so careful not to upset. 😉

Flippant answer but true. Different events operate different requirements but you may have to pitch and pay for the privelage to make money from the event and you'll have to convince them that you can deliver the goods.

You'll get warned about insurance and you will need some due to the crowds involved at some of these events but you'll only know the answer when you contact the organisers well in advance and ask them.

johnmac 8 140
2 Aug 2016 8:03PM
Thanks I'm only looking into this for when I retire soon.
Migster 6 107 England
2 Aug 2016 10:50PM
On
When you say horse trials do you mean Eventing?
justin c 15 5.0k 36 England
2 Aug 2016 11:29PM

Quote:When you say horse trials do you mean Eventing?

It's the same thing.
Overread 10 4.1k 19 England
3 Aug 2016 8:00AM