Amazon Kindle Unlimited Offer: 1-Month For FREE!

Stitching photos

JulieR 15 28 England
19 Mar 2007 9:54PM
Hi Guys/Gals

Sorry if this is an old question but can anyone reccommend a programme to stitch photos together. I am using windows xp and photoshop 7.
Many thanks in advance Julie .
User_Removed 17 17.9k 8 Norway
19 Mar 2007 10:02PM
Autostich Julie - and it's free!
justin c 17 5.1k 36 England
19 Mar 2007 10:10PM
I find Autopano Pro works superbly.
looboss 14 3.1k 7 United Kingdom
19 Mar 2007 11:14PM
I find PTgui quite good, simple and effective.
amccartney 18 83 United Kingdom
20 Mar 2007 12:32AM

Quote:Autostich Julie - and it's free!

Agree totally on this one, used it just recently and achieved fantastic results, (obviously mainly because of my stupendous photography in the first place!!) lol

But honestly give it a try, it's free!
mjsayles 15 1.0k
20 Mar 2007 9:04AM
I've been using Autostitch for many months now, and the results are very good. I've had huge panoramic prints (48" + on the long side) made from Autostitch panos and they're extremely good.
mshepherd 17 667 United Kingdom
20 Mar 2007 11:00AM
Generally Autostitch does a good job but it doesn’t allow much user intervention – if you get a difficult image there is little you can do to force a stitch.

I use PTgui and this can handle Tiffs as inputs and output 16 bit files in a various formats

An alternative to PTgui is Hugin which is free

hugin.sourceforge.net/

It gets good reviews (I haven’t used it myself but its another front end for "Panorama tools" which is the engine that PTgui uses)

If I found hugin first I would have probably have tried this before buying anything else.

IMHO having the ability to run an automatic stitch and then fine tune (eg override moving objects) it and choose the blending algorithm is invaluable – PTgui can then stitch the image into a layered PSD file for a final cleanse something lacking in Autostitch