Don't Miss Out On Great WEX Offers - Find Out More

Suggest a camera

Farris 15 24
7 Apr 2005 11:15AM
I'm a beginner, and taking classes at IU. I have to have a 35 mm with manual control capability. I don't really have any idea what to buy. I want to get something that is good for a beginner but I won't think was a waist of money after I have more experience. Also any accessories/lenses you think would be a good investment at this stage would be appreciated also.
Thanks
Farris

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

cambirder 16 7.2k England
7 Apr 2005 11:17AM
Are we talking film or digital here?
Farris 15 24
7 Apr 2005 11:33AM
film please
u08mcb 16 5.8k
7 Apr 2005 11:37AM
I had the Canon EOS 300 to begin with (still do actually) which gives you full manual control plus all the usual automatic stuff if you wanted it.

I think you'll be fine with just about any of the entry level SLRs on offer from the big names (Minolta, Canon, Nikon, Pentax). If money's tight you can pick up older cameras on ebay quite easily. For example the Pentax ME Super is a highly thought of camera and crops up fairly regularly.
DanSig 15 288 Iceland
7 Apr 2005 11:40AM
I am a studen in artschool and am learning photography and developing, I use the Canon EOS 500N wich is a cheap but quite good filmcamera, has all the manual controls but only 3 focuspoints.

If you are willing to spend some money on a good filmcamera then try to find a Canon EOS (X) or (XX) single or dual digits, like the 3,5,30,60, if you go up to triple digits then the focuspoints are getting rather few and build quality is getting worse.

in the classifieds on the left there is a great filmcamera for sale.

Canon EOS 3 35mm SLR
Mint condition boxed with all original instructions. Includes ten rolls of Kodak Elite Chrome EC 100 ISO slide film - 330

if you can afford this one then you got a camera for life Smile
seabloke 16 844
7 Apr 2005 11:43AM