Regatta Offer: Save 15% on 'Top Picks' With Code TP15

Suggestions for dslr for a beginner

24 Jan 2021 2:17PM
My son in law is thinking about getting his first dslr & has asked for my advice on what to buy. I have my own thoughts but I feel Im biased towards Nikon as this is what I have. Thought it would be good to ask advice from others.
Can anybody offer some suggestions? Hes only ever used a point & shoot or his phone camera. Thanks in advance.
24 Jan 2021 2:49PM
I'm no expert, by any stretch of the imagination. But here are some of my reflections basedon my own journey...

I suppose to some extent it depends what type of photography he wants to do.

I started out about 4 years ago with a Canon EOS 1100D (Rebel T3). It was cheap and there were loads of affordable lenses for it, especially 3rd party. Often bought second hand to save cash. Went from nothing to some very respectable shots in just 2 years (well, I think so anyway 😆 ). I found it easy to use and, being cheap, I wasn't too concerned about shutter count or taking risks/ experimenting with it. I had great fun learning with it.

Only reason I upgraded... Hubby very much into landscape. I wanted to play along on holidays. But the focus ring on the lenses was right at the front. So using filters became a challenge because it tilted them when it focused. Got round it for a while using a polariser before threading on the filter holder. But not ideal. Hence my upgrade (to Nikon, as it happens).

Don't know if that helps at all. But hope you find something suitable.
GwB Plus
1 73 United Kingdom
24 Jan 2021 3:02PM