Your chance to win a Nikon Z 50 Camera Kit!

Thinking of "downweighting" my camera!

cheddar-caveman 16 1.2k England
23 Dec 2016 1:48AM
I currently have a Canon 7D Mkll with the Canon 100-400mm IS Mkll which I use almost exclusively for wildlife photography. At 78 I'm just beginning to find the combination a bit heavy to carry around for long periods even though a use a camera "vest", so am thinking of downweighting the kit.
Is there a smaller camera combination out there which will do this for me while retaining most of the great features of the Canon, shutter speed, low light capability etc.? I especially want to keep a viewfinder, I don't like back screens other than to review a picture, find them hard to see in bright light!
All suggestions will be greatly appreciated and followed up.
Happy Christmas!

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

CBumpkin 12 31 United Kingdom
23 Dec 2016 2:13AM
Depends on the size of the chip. I had a Canon D5 I and it was heavy, but had a 12 Meg sensor and could produce great pictures. Switched to a GX7 Panasonic and Olympus E-M1, got the same daylight quality, but no good for astrophotography as half-frame chips are too noisy. You will not get low light equivalent quality from a smaller chip. Though the total expense is less, the portability is good and on the wall at 12x16 it will match a D5 11 for daylight shooting. If you *must have* low light capability, then it's a Sony mirrorless full frame, but that's mega costly. Please, have been shooting pictures 50+ years, from 5x4 down, but all cameras are a compromise!
DaveRyder Plus
6 4.3k 2 United Kingdom
23 Dec 2016 6:37AM
This was taken with an E-M10 and Zuiko 75-300 (*2 digital multipier), about a 50% crop on jpeg. The camera, tamron 14-150, zuiko zoom and panny 25 all went in my hand luggage.

253884_1482475051.jpg
StrayCat 16 19.1k 3 Canada
23 Dec 2016 6:55AM