Save 69% on inPixio Photo Studio 11 Ultimate (discount applied at checkout)

TomTom Sat. Nav.

MikeRC 16 3.6k United Kingdom
25 Mar 2011 4:27PM
Hi...the basic Tomtom...Tomtom ONE...I've been useing for some 3 years packed up so i bought a new one...again the cheapest, Tomtom START. 80.
I only listen to the instructions so I don't need anything special, but I'm not happy with this.
....the voice is scratchy, sometimes I cannot make out what it says and occasionaly makes comments that are not applicable,
Every now and again it makes a series of high pitched "beeps"....no idea what these are but they're very off putting.

I may be able to return it...but what's the alternative ?...'gotta have something I can get lost on the motorway.
....I see some drivers with a map in one hand, but it's not for me Smile
Suggestions appreciated...thanks....Mike.
digicammad 17 22.0k 40 United Kingdom
25 Mar 2011 4:32PM
I've never had problems with the voice on TomTom so it is possible you have a duff one.

The Garmin Nuvi range are good, I recently bought one of the widescreen models with built in traffic information.

Ian
gaelldew 13 377 United Kingdom
25 Mar 2011 5:08PM
Nowt wrong using a map, or learning the geography of the British Isles. Grin
rhody 18 2.8k 2 United Kingdom
25 Mar 2011 6:29PM
I get told what to do indoors by a soft but firm female voice - so no difference to having a soft, but firm firm female voice telling me where to go in the car Wink
lawbert 14 1.8k 15 England
25 Mar 2011 6:41PM
Hello Mike

I wanted a phone and a Satnav and internet, email etc all in one device so I got an HTC Desire HD on contract which uses google maps...which are pretty much spot on.

Its an idea to look at opposed to a dedicated sat nav.
absurd 19 228 United Kingdom
25 Mar 2011 7:49PM