Exclusive Offer - 20% Off Mitsubishi CP-M15E Printer Bundle!

Tour de France

JJGEE 15 7.8k 18 England
7 Jul 2013 8:28AM

Quote:am looking forward to next year when the opening stages come to Yorkshire

Long time since I studied geography at school but since when has Yorkshire been in France ? Wink
arhb 13 3.4k 68 United Kingdom
7 Jul 2013 9:37AM

Quote:am looking forward to next year when the opening stages come to Yorkshire
Long time since I studied geography at school but since when has Yorkshire been in France ? Wink

My thoughts too Jeff.
Along the same lines of logic, I can only imagine some point in the future, when stages of The Tour of Britain are held in the Alps and Pyrenees .
saltireblue Plus
10 11.2k 68 Norway
7 Jul 2013 11:21AM
Le Tour has been to the UK before. In 2007 London--->Canterbury.
This year's Tour is an exception in recent years, with no legs going outside France - although the Corsicans might say their island is foreign soil!

Malc
Gaucho 18 2.8k 2 United Kingdom
7 Jul 2013 11:37AM
It starts in Yorkshire next year. Huge climbs up the mountains there Wink
saltireblue Plus
10 11.2k 68 Norway
7 Jul 2013 11:42AM

Quote:It starts in Yorkshire next year.

...which is exactly what we have been talking about the last few posts...WinkGrin
7 Jul 2013 11:49AM
Huge climbs they are not, but the gradients will be the test.
7 Jul 2013 11:54AM
Today should be interesting.
7 Jul 2013 5:38PM
Froome did well to claw his way back to the front(or there abouts), given the early attacks that happened from the start, but he was alone.
I reckon the individual TT's will work in Froome's favour, and should advance his lead on Valverde. Contador will be another matter.
saltireblue Plus
10 11.2k 68 Norway
7 Jul 2013 5:42PM
Gutsy performance today from Froome, and totally without help from the rest of the team.

What a weekend for British sport - Froome, The Lions and Murray.
9 Jul 2013 9:44AM