Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

• NEWS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Get the new ON1 Photo 10 and Save $100 Today. Use Code: GetPhoto10 View Offer

Upgrade Lightroom 3 to Lightroom 4 ?

canonfan46 6 1.1k United Kingdom
25 Oct 2012 10:49PM
Hi all
I am a amateur and have been using Lightroom 3 for a few years but have not been very active over the past year.
I see now that there is a new "Lightroom 4" and was wondering if there was anything new in it that would make it worth while upgrading to.

Any advice appreciated.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

Nick_w Plus
8 4.2k 99 England
25 Oct 2012 11:38PM
It's much better in so many ways, it's had a big design update.
Paul Morgan Plus
14 17.4k 6 England
25 Oct 2012 11:43PM
What operating system are you using, I found that it will not work with windows XP Sad

26 Oct 2012 12:29AM
thanks , i am using windows vista
26 Oct 2012 7:37AM

not being an expert in lightroom, i cant really comment on all the hidden away features as i didn't use them in version 3. but so far in my 'dabbleing' with version 4 the user inerface has changed in layout, some controls have been 'got rid of' and merged in with others or new ones. An example of this is the recovery slider - which has now disappeared and been replaced with a highlights slider, similarly fill light replaced with shadows.

the sliders have been tweeked to be (IMO) much more user friendly and offer more control - and adobe has still kept the old interface in so if you dont like change, you can in essence run version 3 inside version 4.

Go for it, you know you want to............christmas coming up, and all that!

GlennH 10 1.9k 1 France
26 Oct 2012 7:43AM
I think it'll run on Vista, but stopped supporting XP altogether.

Some of the new features I've used -

Colour moiré reduction brush