Voting 'experiment'

Phil_D 13 81 Scotland
8 Feb 2007 8:34PM
I have been browsing through the forums recently and have coe across a number of threads discussing the subject of 'clicks' and 'votes' and the value of the system, and 'clicking-circles' etc - I also note that the system is being worked upon (Version 4?) that may address some of these concerns.

I decided to try a little experiment (probably not very scientific, but then I'm not a scientist!). I genuinely enjoy looking through the reader gallery, and if there is an image that i like, for any reason, I like to give it a click, and if I really like, or there is something noteworthy about it, I like to leave a little comment. However, at times I can't help feeling like this is fishing for votes, particularly as there are a number of members whom I regularly comment and click - and again, this is purely because I enjoy their work.

So, my experiment -

I have avoided the gallery for a few days, so no clicks from me for a while (which I feel compelled to apologise for, which leads me back to my point above!). I then post an image (which I happen to quite like, and think is worthy of a look), and then sit back - don't go back into the gallery and click other folks' images, just sit back.

I end up with a few votes (37 votes, 64 views and 15 comments at the last count), but what was really interesting was a couple of the comments - "Suprised not more clicks", "Only 30? You've got to be kidding..." and "Certainly deserves more attention" - comments that I have never had before.

My conclusion is simple - in future I will have 'cicking periods' and 'uploading periods', and keep the two separate. Even better, I could set up a dummy account under a different name - oh damn, thats against EPZ rules ! ! !

Why oh why is my life so racked with guilt?

Phil.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

User_Removed 16 17.9k 8 Norway
8 Feb 2007 9:10PM
Tin 'at time!!
MikeRC 15 3.6k United Kingdom
8 Feb 2007 9:31PM