Take your photography to the next level and beyond...

  • NEWS

Why not join for free today?

Join for Free

Your total photography experience starts here

Was this another rip-off site?

Ptr_A 9 54 United Kingdom
10 Nov 2013 5:16PM
Did any off you, like me, join Local Stock, as advertised on ephotozine, a couple of years ago? It would appear that the site has been suspended, so I wonder how many people spent their hard earned cash on a 'life-time membership' on what appears to have been a rip-off scam.

I can find nothing on the Net about the site or the owner. Any help would be appreciated.

Join ePHOTOzine for free and remove these adverts.

rogerfry 12 543 United Kingdom
10 Nov 2013 6:06PM
Is this the site you're referring to?
Ptr_A 9 54 United Kingdom
10 Nov 2013 10:58PM
No, that is an American site, the defunct one was UK. However, the wording of the site is very similar. From what I can see, they are not asking for money from those who wish to submit images.
11 Nov 2013 8:29AM
Here you go - registrant and address:

Domain name:

Brian Doran

Registrant type:
UK Individual

Registrant's address:
26 Westermains Avenue
East Dunbartonshire
G66 1EQ
United Kingdom

Webfusion Ltd t/a 123-reg [Tag = 123-REG]
URL: http://www.123-reg.co.uk

Relevant dates:
Registered on: 05-Oct-2010
Expiry date: 05-Oct-2014
Last updated: 08-Oct-2012

Registration status:
Registered until expiry date.

Name servers:

WHOIS lookup made at 08:27:46 11-Nov-2013
Ptr_A 9 54 United Kingdom
11 Nov 2013 9:30AM
Many thanks. I have emailed the guy through his photography site and i'll see if he has the cahonas to reply.
CanonMan 16 524 4 England
11 Nov 2013 11:01AM
Did you ever achieve any sales through this stock site?
Ptr_A 9 54 United Kingdom
11 Nov 2013 4:09PM
Hi CanonMan, no sales, although that may have been that people didn't want my images. It's something I will probably never know.
CanonMan 16 524 4 England
12 Nov 2013 2:27PM
I made no sales from them either but have from other stock sites. It would be interesting to know, if anyone else from here signed up with them, whether or not they made any sales. Don't be shy, let us know.
CanonMan 16 524 4 England
13 Nov 2013 10:33AM
Looks like the account has now been "Un-suspended" and the website is running again. Not sure how long for though, as this has happened before.

Sign In

You must be a member to leave a comment.

ePHOTOzine, the web's friendliest photography community.

Join For Free

Upload photos, chat with photographers, win prizes and much more.