Save 35% On A SmugMug Account Today!

Website

Debbiee 14 136 6 United Kingdom
30 Jul 2006 1:21PM
Hi

I am in the process of building a website and just looking for a bit of advice, I have put together a mock website (the pictures on it wil not be the ones I'm displaying in my finished website and I am going to buy a domain name so the web address will change) but am in the process of converting the images I want to use from Raw to jpeg and with thousands to trail threw its a slow process. So just using pictures of my daughter that I had already stored on my computer I put together a mock one.

I would really appreciate it if anyone could give me advice on my website i.e what I need to add in, if the formats ok etc etc, as to me it seems to be lacking something, but as I'm no web designer don't really know what to add. I have 20mb of space and so far what is up there takes about 10mb

The page is

www.debbie3.karoo.net

any advice would be gratefully appreciated

Thanks Debbie
andart 19 538 United Kingdom
30 Jul 2006 2:20PM
Hi Debbie,
I had a quick look at your site and I was not sure what the purpose of the site was - is it to showcase your work and get comissions? or to sell prints? or sell stock images?

I think once you have decided the purpose then you will have more of an idea as to what to add.

I think you will need to say more about yourself and the type of photography you cover and where you are based if you are looking for work.

Add captions and filenames (in the form of IPTC comments) to your pictures and either show them below the pic or when the mouse is on a picture if you are trying to sell prints or stock images.

you could also break-up the pictures into groups (weddings, events, product shots, landscapes etc etc) to avoid having to page through lots of thumbnails till you find some of interest.

dont forget to add a 'home' link on each page

dont forget to add loads of metadata and register with some search engines or no one will find your site.